Member Biography

Gene Prescott

Title: President

Organization: The Biltmore Hotel

Committee Position: Member

T. Gene Prescott is the sole shareholder of Seaway Hotels Corporation. Prescott grew up in Idaho and graduated from the University of Idaho. He holds a M.S. Degree from Carnegie-Mellon University, is a Certified Public Accountant (Touche-Ross, Cleveland) and was a management consultant in the United States and in Italy for Olivetti. Prescott has served as an officer and a director at a number of publicly owned companies before striking off on his own by purchasing interests in a variety of business ventures.

Prescott purchased the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, a 390-room beachfront property in Clearwater, FL in 1980. He is the sole owner of the Biltmore Hotel, a 271-room destination resort in Coral Gables, FL. He added the Alexander All Suite Hotel on Miami Beach in 1994 and sold it in 2015. Prescott also owned the Staten Island Hotel in New York but sold it in 2008. In additional to these prestigious hotel properties, his portfolio holdings include two public refrigerated warehouses in New Jersey and a wholesale travel agency in Chicago.

Prescott is active in many aspects of the community, and serves on the following: Board Member, Past Vice Chairman and member of the Executive, Finance, Development, and Investment Sub-Committees (2001 – Present) for the Florida International University Foundation; Advisory Board Member (2003 – Present) for the Florida International University School of Hospitality; VISIT FLORIDA Board Member (2010 – Present); Tourist Development Council Board Member (2010 – Present) for Miami Dade County; Board of Director, Finance and Administration Committee member, Government Relations Committee member (2003 – Present), and 2013 Selected Hotelier of the Year Hall of Fame for the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association; Finance Committee and Investment Committee (2001 - Present) for the Orange Bowl Committee; Board Member and Past Chairman (2003 - Present) for the Greater Miami Conventions and Visitors Bureau; Citizens Board Member (2014 - Present) for the University of Miami; One Community/One Goal Chairman Hospitality & Tourism Committee of the Beacon Council; Finance Committee member of the Miami Children’s Hospital Board of Directors; Former Director and Treasurer for the Miami-Dade Expressway Authority; Former Director of the Eastern National Bank and Founding Director of the Bank of Coral Gables.